Life of Pi Yann Martel

Life of Pi Yann Martel

Can there be any happiness greater than the happiness of salvation?Yann Martel, Life of Pi.

Booker-prize-winning-nove-006

As my second fiction book this year, I tackled Life of Pi by Yann Martel. I gotta say, i spent some time reading the reviews before, and after finish the book. Wanted to find out how the opinions and reviews are comparing to my thoughts after reading the book I realized that the book is highly underrated.

I am not a religious person. I never was. And since the idea for setting up this blog crossed my mind, I decided that I am going to write about number of things. Anything to be honest, which is interesting to me, or somehow connected to my life. But I have decided that I will never publish a post which has anything to do with my views about the religion, religion and science relations, my criticism of creationism, and just simply me being an atheist  But then, Life of Pi is nothing more, that the book about God and Nature.

cover lifeofpiYann Martel is telling a story of 16 years old boy from India  who’s family in order to escape the upcoming political and financial storm decides to leave their home land in order to try their luck in Canada  After selling their possessions as well as livestock, the family’s zoo is being partially transported to Canada with the whole Pi’s family on board. However, during the storm, after short stay in Manila, Philippines, the ship suddenly wrecked. Pi find himself on the small rescue boat, in the middle of the ocean, however, he is not alone in the boat.

I decided to wait couple of days after finishing the book, to get my thought settle, before turning them in any kind of review, or subjective opinion  Books like Life of Pi can be taken by the reader variously. 1) It is a great book in which the author is exploring the kingdom of animals. I cant even explain how real the descriptions of the animals seemed real to me while reading the book. The way in which Yann Martel has approached this extremely difficult task in bringing all of those animals to life with such a simple words is one of its kind.  2) It is a book describing the search for a good, divine element or any kind of power which holds this world together.

I would like to come back to the book in couple of years time. It is a definitely book which is worth re-reading. I may find something that I have missed or have been hidden from me between the line.

Great Read!

4 thoughts on “Life of Pi Yann Martel

Leave a Reply

