The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I always have issues with reading classics. And yes, the only reason why i had even considered reading The Great Gatsby was upcoming premiere of newest Baz Luhrmann‘s movie. Despite the first impressions, I did enjoy the book.

great gatsby the movie - 1974
The Great Gatsby   The Movie (1974) starring Robert Redford

This is my first read of the 2013. I have chosen that book to the the first, cause of its  small number of pages. I decided to get through the book while writing my last essay for commercial law.

Book Cover
Book Cover

The store is told by the eyes of Nick Carraway-Yale graduate and solider in I World War, who comes to New York in order to peruse his career as a broker. By his friends who moved to NY before him – Tom and Daisy Buchanan he meets Jordan Baker. During One of his visits in Tom and Daisy’s mansions, Jordan mentions of Gatsby – mysterious millionaire man who lives close to Nick. Gatsby is known for his enormous mansions and parties that he hosts. Nick’s suspicions about his mysterious neighbor became even more serious once Gatsby gets in touch with Nick, asking him for very unusual favor.

The book shows the spirit, mentality and mood of jazz age in the early XX century. It is a easy read which captures most of the story and idea of american dreams – how one lead by a simple luck can become unimaginably rich. It is a fine example of how elite treats each other once the big party suddenly stops. The storyteller- Nick on the background of the other characters remains relatively plain, however still fits perfectly as a keen observer of surrounding events.

The thing that I liked the most in the book must have been the characters.  I did enjoy the way the author has shown the true story of Joy Gatsby. The book definitely has its weak, and to me, even boring moments, which is quite unusual for the the book its size.  However, in the end I would recommend The Great Gatsby, as a book worth reading.

5 thoughts on “The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

  1. it’s a co-incidence that this was the first book i finished reading in 2013.
    I also selected it as it was a short book and the movie releases in 2013 as well.
    I was blown away by the writing – however felt that “something more” was needed – i am not sure may be i expected it to have a shocking or more dramatic end – Gatsby character was wonderful.
    I will try another book by F. Scott Fitzgerald for his marvelous writing but for this 3/5 would be my rating – i feel there is a chance that Baz Luhrmann‘s might be better than this( or the worst 🙂 )

    1. What a coincidence! But yeah, I need to agree with you, there might be something that the book is missing. And 3 out 5 seems like a reasonable rating. I am looking forward to seeing the movie!

      1. Yeah : looking at the picture or Robert Redford – i think Leo has a big task at his hand – looking at this recent brilliant performances – he might nail it.
        Request : please suggest a novel horror/thriller under 300 pages if you know of. Thanks in advance

  2. I am so looking forward to the movie.

    I know there is analysis upon analysis that has been done, especially in terms of Fitzgerald’s particular use of color to set moods. My favorite of his symbolic devices in this book has always been his use of plants assigned to characters: Daisy, Myrtle, Carraway.

    Excited for your next book review.

Leave a Reply

